Our Board

BVU is governed by a board of directors comprised of business and community leaders who provide their professional expertise and leadership to achieve the mission of linking businesses and nonprofits to foster excellence in the nonprofit sector.



Christopher Gorman
Key Corporate Bank
David S. Goodman, Esq.
Immediate Past Chair
Managing Partner-Cleveland
Squire, Sanders (US) LLP
Debra Adams Simmons
Vice Chair
Cleveland Plain Dealer
John MacIntosh
Vice Chair
Managing Partner
Chris Swift
Board Secretary
Baker Hostetler LLP
Michael A. Cogan
Board Treasurer
President & CEO
Northern Trust Securities, Inc.
Richard W. Pogue, Esq.
Chair Emeritus
Jones Day
Brian F. Broadbent
President & CEO
BVU: The Center for Nonprofit Excellence



Ken Babby
Akron RubberDucks
Richard J. Batyko
President, Regional Marketing Alliance
Adam A. Briggs
Briggs Financial Gorup
Holly Buffinton
Executive Vice President
PNC Bank
Candace Campbell Jackson
Vice President and Chief of Staff
The University of Akron
Richard C. Fedorovich
Managing Partner
Bober Markey Fedorovich
Daniel Flowers
President & CEO
Akron-Canton Regional Foodbank
Susan Flowers
Vice President of Marketing
Cleveland Vicon
Heidi L. Gartland
Vice President, Government Relations
University Hospitals, Rainbow Babies & Children's Hospital
Kathleen Golovan
EVP Care Management & Chief Information Officer
Medical Mutual
David G. Goodall
Executive Vice President & Chief Commercial Banking Officer
FirstMerit Corporation
Carl J. Grassi
McDonald Hopkins
Richard H. Hauer
Calfee, Halter & Griswold LLP
Sean P. Hennessy
Senior Vice President- Finance & CFO
The Sherwin-Williams Company
Ira C. Kaplan
Managing Partner
Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff LLP
Philip S. Kaufmann
Stark & Knoll Co., L.P.A.
Christoper M. Kelly
Partner-in-Charge, Cleveland
Jones Day
Unhee Kim
System VP, Service Lines and Ancillary Services
Summa Health Systems
Robert J. Klonk
Chief Executive Officer
Oswald Companies
David B. Knowles
OM Group Inc.
Kevin S. Lauterjung
Community Energy Advisors
Dennis Lehman
Executive Vice President of Business
The Cleveland Indians
Keith V. Mabee
President - Corporate Communications & Investor Relations
Falls Communications
Ron Marotto
Vice President of Corporate Real Estate and Administrative Services
Progressive Casualty Insurance Company
Ben Mathews
McKinsey & Company
Margaret A. Mitchell
President and CEO
YWCA Greater Cleveland
Michael T. Mullen
PriceWaterhouseCoopers LLP
Patricia W. Nobili
Executive Director
Achievement Centers for Children
Geralyn M.Presti
General Counsel, Senior Vice President & Secretary
Forest City Enterprises,Inc.
E.R. (Chip) Preston III
Spiral Brushes, Inc.
Bill Priemer
President & CEO
Hyland Software
Kip Reader, Esq.
Managing Partner
Ulmer & Berne LLP
Deborah Z. Read
Managing Partner
Thompson Hine, LLP
Donald J. Richards
Accenture (Retired)
Gregory J. Skoda
Skoda Minotti
Michael E. Steele
Vice President of Finance & Planning, Fluid Power Group
Eaton Corporation
Lorraine Vega
Senior Vice President
KeyBank Foundation
Deborah Vesy
President & CEO
Deaconess Community Foundation
Thomas A. Waltermire
Chief Executive Officer
Team NEO